Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

2017 Houston SCBWI Annual Conference

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 10/07/2017 - 10/08/2017
7:30 am - 6:15 pm

The Marriott Houston Westchase
2900 Briarpark Drive - Houston, Texas 77070


No Categories

Conference Home | Faculty & Speakers | First Look Panels | Portfolios & Illustrator Breakout  | Schedule   
Sunday Intensives | Critique Guidelines | Hotel | Logistics & Social Events | J. L. Nixon Award |  FAQ's

Here is the list of our Faculty Speakers and critique faculty. Visit the Faculty & Speakers page for full bios. Read carefully to choose the editor or agent that most closely reads the type of manuscript you wish to submit for critique. You may select one Faculty Speaker, one e-critique and multiple local critiques. Fees for critiques are paid in addition to the conference registration fee.

Faculty Speakers

Bruce Coville, Author

Dierdre Jones, Editor at Little Brown Books for Young Readers

Anna Roberto, Editor at McMillan/Feiwel & Friends

Adriana Dominguez, Agent at Full Circle Literary

Christa Heschke, Agent at MacIntosh and Otis

Thao Le, Agent at Sandra Dijkstra Literary

Martha Rago, Executive Creative Director at Random House for Young Readers

E-critique Faculty

Heather Alexander, independent children’s book editor

Andrea Cascardi, Agent at Transatlantic Agency

Karl Jones, Associate Editor at Penguin Young Readers Group

Andrea Somberg, Agent at Harvey Klinger Literary

Houston Breakout Session Faculty

Pat Miller

Jennifer Hamburg

Houston Critique Faculty

Crystal Allen

Kathy Duval

Sherry Garland

Sandra Howatt

Kimberly Morris

Joy Preble




Conference Cancellations

Cancellations for the conference on or after August 30 will be subject to a $25 cancellation fee. Cancellations for the conference after September 30 will not be refunded. Contact Vicki Sansum. If you cannot send your manuscript, CONTACT immediately. If another person can fill the critique, a refund will be given. There can be no refunds after August 26.